Pueblo Home of Heroes Essay Contest – 2018

The Pueblo Home of Heroes Association in cooperation with the Pueblo City/County Library District announced the winners of the 10th annual Home of Heroes Essay Contest during an award ceremony March 14, 2018 at the Rawlings Library, Ryals Room.

Pueblo hosted the Congressional Medal of Honor Society’s Annual Convention last fall. Many of the recipients visited schools, signed autographs and had student escorts during the Patriot Award dinner.

This Year’s theme was:
Forty-one Medal of Honor recipients came to Pueblo last year for their annual convention. If you took part in this convention in any way or attended an event with a Medal of Honor recipient, what impact did that experience have on you? Or if you did not participate, what does it mean to you to live in Pueblo, the “Home of Heroes?”

There were 345 entries. The first- place winning essay in each category will be printed in The Chieftain during the following weeks. Today’s essay is from Kiersten Kinney, a 5th grader from Corwin International Magnet School.

We are proud to present this year’s winners

Back row, left to right: Kyra Burton, Cloe White, Madison Tatinski, Grant Lisi, Alyssa Durning, Kaleya McCollum
Font row, left to right: Wyatt Pace, Gabe Stecker, Benjamin Buchannan, Kiersten Kinney, Abigail Fadenrecht (not all winners were able to attend the award ceremony. See below for a complete list of winners)


1st place: Kiersten Kinney – Corwin

Teacher Mr. Hutchins

2nd Place: Benjamin Buchanan – Swallows

Teacher Ms. Smith

3rd Place: Wyatt Pace – Corwin

Teacher Mr. Hutchins

Honorable Mention:

Hannah Garcia – Belmon

Teacher Mrs. Leyh

Grant Spangler – Swallows

Teacher Mrs. Maher

Abigail Fadenrecht – Prairie Winds

Teacher Kate Pacheck


1st Place: Kyra Burton – PSAS

Teacher Christina Rodell

2nd Place: Patrice Sais – Heroes Academy

Teacher Lyn Webster

3rd Place: Madison Tatinski – Corwin

Teacher Mr. Bogart

Honorable Mention:

Gabe Stecker – Home School

Teacher Tammy Stecker

Honorable Mention:

Alyssa Durning – Goodnight

Teacher Mrs. Robson

Honorable Mention:

Shayleianna Bachicha – Goodnight

Teacher Mrs. Robson


1st Place:  Sara Salazar – Pueblo West High

Teacher Mathew Dilcher

2nd   Place: Kaleya McCollun – East High

Teacher Ms. Vivoda

3rd Place: Grant Lisi – Pueblo West High School

Teacher LTC Emond

Honorable Mention:

Chloe White – Pueblo West High

Teacher LTC Emond

Thomas O’Connor – Pueblo West High

Teacher LTC Emond

Ukiah Fox West-Duran – East High

Teacher Mr. LeMasters

Congratulations to all who entered the contest and thank you to the teachers who encouraged students to participate.

2017 Winners
2016 Winners


Comments are closed.