Pueblo Home of Heroes Essay Contest – 2017

The Pueblo Home of Heroes Association in cooperation with the Pueblo City-County Library District announced the winners of the 9th annual Home of Heroes Essay Contest, Monday, April 3rd at the Rawlings Library during an awards ceremony. The theme was “Which of the living Medal of Honor recipients would you most like to meet and why? What questions would you ask them and why?”

Two Medal of Honor recipients, Thomas Kelley of Boston and Robert Patterson of North Carolina were in attendance to help distribute the certificates and cash awards. A total of 414 students entered essays in the contest from elementary, middle and high school in both Pueblo City Schools and District 70. Eighteen entries were selected by judges for awards.

We are proud to present this year’s winners

Back row, left to right: Hallee Ocana, Peyton Fernandez, Brandan Rushing, Tom Kelley, Medal of Honor recipient, Bob Patterson, Medal of Honor recipient
Second row, left to right: Delaney Barela, Demi Winters, Carol Romero, Isaiah Miller, Stephen Wietzke, Kiersten Kinney,
Front row, left to right: Antero Rodriguez, Nicholas Schmitz, Hadley Perry, Dylan Moran
2017 Essay Contest Gallery


1st place: Dylan Moran – Goodnight Elementary

Teacher Justin Shue

2nd Place: Nicholas Schmitz – Belmont Elementary

Teacher Mrs. Leyh

3rd Place: Kiersten Kinney – Corwin International Magnet School

Teacher Marie Schwager

Honorable Mention:

Antero Rodriguez – Corwin International Magnet School

Teacher Mrs. Sefcovic

Isaiah Miller – Haaf Elementary School

Teacher Shari Elson

Gerald Montez – South Park Elementary School

Teacher – Mrs. Hedrick


1st Place: Demi Winters – Skyview Middle School

Teacher April Maez

2nd Place: Stephen Wietzke – Home schooled

Teacher Mary Wietzke

3rd Place: Perry Hadley – Connect Charter School

Teacher Mr. Preston

Honorable Mention:

Hallee Ocana – Connect Charter School

Teacher Mrs. Medina


1st Place:  Peyton Fernandez – Pueblo West High School

Teacher LTC Emond

2nd   Place: Brendan Rushing – Pueblo West High School

Teacher LTC Emond

3rd Place: Maggie Jackson-Turner – Pueblo West High School

Teacher LTC Emond

Honorable Mention:

Carol Romero – Centennial High School

Teacher Chief Warrant Officer Raymond

Evan Ward – Pueblo West High School

Teacher Sheila Sloan

Marianna Gonzales – Pueblo East High School

Teacher Marla Vivoda

Delaney Barela – Pueblo East High School

Teacher Terri Pacheco

Dakota Lucero – Pueblo East High School

Teacher Marla Vivoda

Congratulations to all who entered the contest and thank you to the teachers who encouraged students to participate.
Special thanks to Pueblo City/County Library District, Pam Cress for photos, the Pueblo West JROTC and Medal of Honor Recipients Thomas Kelley and Robert Patterson.

2016 Winners


Comments are closed.